

301 S. Bronough Street, Suite 300 ● Post Office Box 1757 ● Tallahassee, FL 32302-1757 (850) 222-9684 ● Fax: (850) 222-3806 ● Website: *flcities.com*

City Officials from Across the State Named "Home Rule Heroes"

The Florida League of Cities recognizes local officials for their advocacy efforts during legislative session

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: May 9, 2019

CONTACT: Brittni Johnsen

bjohnsen@flcities.com / (850) 701-3652

The Florida League of Cities is recognizing more than 100 municipal officials with Home Rule Hero Awards for their work during the 2019 legislative session. These local leaders earned this award for their tireless efforts to protect the Home Rule powers of Florida's municipalities and advance the League's legislative agenda.

"The dedication and effort of these local officials during the 2019 legislative session was extraordinary," said **FLC Legislative Director Scott Dudley**. "These are some of our biggest advocates for municipal issues, and they're shining examples of local advocacy in action. On behalf of the League and its legislative team, we're proud to recognize each and every one of them and thank them for their service."

Home Rule is the ability for a city to address local problems with local solutions with minimal state interference. Home Rule Hero Award recipients are local government officials, both elected and nonelected, who consistently responded to the League's request to reach out to members of the legislature and help give a local perspective to an issue.

The 2019 Home Rule Hero Award recipients are:

City	Title	Name
City of Altamonte Springs	Mayor	Pat Bates
City of Arcadia	Councilmember	Judy Wertz-Strickland
City of Atlantic Beach	Mayor	Ellen Glasser
City of Bartow	Commissioner	Leo E. Longworth
City of Bartow	Commissioner	Trish Pfeiffer
City of Belle Glade	Mayor	Steve Wilson
City of Belleair Bluffs	City Administrator	Debra S. Sullivan
City of Boca Raton	Financial Services Director	Linda Davidson
City of Bowling Green	Mayor	Robert Samuel Fite
City of Cocoa	City Manager	John Titkanich

City of Cocoa Beach	Commissioner	Mike Miller
City of Coconut Creek	City Manager	Mary Blasi
City of Cooper City	Mayor	Greg Ross
	Assistant City Attorney/	
City of Coral Gables	Intergovernmental Affairs Mngr.	Naomi Levi-Garcia, Esq.
City of Coral Springs	Commissioner	Joshua Simmons
City of Dade City	Commissioner	Scott Black
City of Davenport	Code Enforcement Officer	Steven Hunnicutt
City of DeLand	Mayor	Robert F. Apgar
City of Destin	Councilman	Skip Overdier
City of Dunedin	Commissioner	Heather Gracy
City of Flagler Beach	Commissioner	Jane Mealy
City of Fort Myers	Councilwoman	Teresa Watkins Brown
City of Fort Pierce	Mayor	Linda Hudson
City of Fort Walton Beach	City Manager	Michael Beedie
City of Hawthorne	Mayor	Matthew Surrency
City of Hialeah Gardens	Mayor	Yioset De La Cruz
City of Holly Hill	Commissioner	John Penny
City of Holly Hill	Mayor	Chris Via
City of Hollywood	Commissioner	Traci L. Callari
City of Homestead	Vice Mayor	Jon Burgess
City of Indian Harbour Beach	City Manager	Mark Ryan
City of Lake Worth	Vice Mayor	Andy Amoroso
City of Largo	Mayor	Woody Brown
City of Largo	Commissioner	John L. Carroll
City of Laura	Intergovernmental Relations	Charal Band
City of Largo	Coordinator	Cheryl Reed
City of Largo	Commissioner	Jamie Robinson
City of Melbourne	Mayor	Kathy Meehan
City of Miami	Commissioner	Wilfredo (Willy) Gort
City of Miami Beach	Mayor	Dan Gelber
City of Mount Dora	Vice Mayor	Cal Rolfson
City of Naples	Assistant City Manager	Roger Reinke
City of New Port Richey	Mayor	Robert Marlowe
City of Niceville	Councilman	Bill Schaetzle
City of Oldsmar	Councilmember	Dan Saracki
City of Orlando	City Planning Division	Douglas A. Metzger
City of Orlando	Commissioner	Tony Ortiz
City of Ormond Beach	Mayor	Bill Partington
City of Parkland	Mayor	Christine Hunschofsky
City of Pembroke Pines	Mayor	Frank C. Ortis
City of Pensacola	Mayor	Grover C. Robinson, IV
City of Pinellas Park	Communication & Government Relations Administrator	Lana Beck
City of Port St. Lucie	Councilwoman	Jolien Caraballo
City of Port St. Lucie	City Attorney	Ella Gilbert
City of Rockledge	City Manager	Brenda Fettrow
City of Sanibel	Vice Mayor	Mick Denham

City of Sanibel	Mayor	Kevin Ruane
City of Sanibel	Councilwoman	Holly Smith
City of Sarasota	Vice Mayor	Jen Ahearn-Koch
City of Sarasota	Commissioner	Shelli Freeland Eddie
City of Sarasota	Commissioner	Willie Charles Shaw
City of Satellite Beach	City Manager	Courtney H. Barker, AICP
City of Satellite Beach	Councilman	Dominick Montanaro
City of Seminole	Councilor	Thom Barnhorn
City of Seminole	Councilor	Jim Quinn
City of Seminole	Vice Mayor	Trish Springer
City of Seminole	Mayor	Leslie Waters
City of South Bay	Mayor	Joe Kyles
City of St. Augustine	Commissioner	Nancy Sikes-Kline
City of St. Pete Beach	Vice Mayor	Terri Finnerty
City of Stuart	Commissioner	Mike Meier
City of Sunny Isles Beach	Vice Mayor	Larisa Svechin
City of Sunrise	Mayor	Michael J. Ryan
City of Tallahassee	•	John E. Dailey
City of Tamarac	Mayor Commissioner	Julie Fishman
City of Tampa	Tax Revenue Coordinator	Sharon Fox
City of Tailipa		Silaton Fox
City of Tampa	Intergovernmental Relations Manager	Debbie Stevenson
City of Temple Terrace	Councilmember	Cheri Donohue
City of Wauchula	City Manager	Terry Atchley
City of Weston	Mayor	Daniel J. Stermer
City of Weston	Assistant City Manager/CFO	Darrel Thomas
City of Wilton Manors	Commissioner	Gary Resnick
City of Winter Park	Commissioner	Carolyn Cooper
City of Winter Park	Mayor	Steve Leary
City of Winter Park	Director, Building & Permitting Services Department	George Wiggins
Town of Bay Harbor Islands	Councilmember	Jordan W. Leonard
Town of Bay Harbor Islands	Councilmember	Isaac Salver
Town of Belleair	Town Manager	JP Murphy
Town of Belleair	Commissioner	Tom Shelly
Town of Hillsboro Beach	Town Manager	William "Mac" Serda
Town of Indialantic	Deputy Mayor	Stuart Glass
Town of Inglis	Mayor	Drinda Merritt
Town of Lake Clarke Shores	Town Administrator	Daniel P. Clark, PE
Town of Lake Hamilton	Mayor	Marlene M. Wagner
Town of Lake Park	Vice Mayor	Kimberly Glas-Castro
Town of Longboat Key	Commissioner	Ken Schneier
Town of Ocean Breeze	Council Vice President	Ann G. Kagdis
Town of Ocean Breeze	Mayor	Karen Ostrand
Town of Palm Shores	Mayor	Carol M. McCormack
Town of Ponce Inlet	Councilmember	Lois Paritsky
Town of Sewall's Point	Mayor	Vinny Barile
Town of White Springs	Mayor	Helen Miller

Village of Estero	Mayor	Bill Ribble
Village of Indiantown	Councilmember	Jackie Gary Clarke
Village of Indiantown	Councilmember	Janet Hernández
Village of Islamorada, Village of Islands	Village Attorney	Roget Bryan
Village of Palm Springs	Village Manager	Richard J. Reade
Village of Pinecrest	Councilmember	James E. McDonald
Village of Wellington	Mayor	Anne Gerwig

###

Founded in 1922, the Florida League of Cities is the united voice for Florida's municipal governments. Its goals are to promote local self-government and serve the needs of Florida's cities. Florida's cities are formed by their citizens and governed by their citizens. The League is founded on the belief that local self-government is the keystone of American democracy. For more information, visit floridaleagueofcities.com.