

301 S. Bronough Street, Suite 300 • Post Office Box 1757 • Tallahassee, FL 32302-1757 (850) 222-9684 • Fax: (850) 222-3806 • Website: <u>flcities.com</u>

## Florida Legislators Honored with 2019 Legislative Appreciation Awards

Florida League of Cities recognizes state lawmakers for their Home Rule advocacy efforts

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: May 15, 2019 CONTACT: Brittni Johnsen bjohnsen@flcities.com / (850) 701-3652

The Florida League of Cities announced today that it is presenting 20 state legislators with Legislative Appreciation Awards for their work during the 2019 legislative session to protect the Home Rule authority of Florida's municipalities.

Legislative Appreciation Award recipients are legislators who have advocated on behalf of the League and its member cities time after time. These lawmakers consistently voted in support of the League's policy positions, offered amendments to help prevent preemptions and unfunded mandates, and/or worked behind the scenes to rally support for League positions during the 2019 legislative session.

The League is also proud to give special recognition to this year's Defenders of Home Rule: **Representative Anna Eskamani, Representative Ben Diamond and Representative Sam Killebrew.** 

The Defender of Home Rule Award is the League's most prestigious legislative award and is given only to those legislators who consistently vote and advocate on behalf of the League and its member cities.

"We believe the government closest to the people should make the decisions that affect the quality of life of the citizens they have been elected to represent," said **FLC Legislative Director Scott Dudley**. "These hardworking legislators continually supported that ideal, and we owe them a great deal of thanks for that. On behalf of Florida's 412 cities and its thousands of municipal officials, the League and its legislative team are proud to recognize these legislators as Home Rule advocates and we thank them for their continued support."

The 2019 recipients of the Legislative Appreciation Award are:

- Senator Aaron Bean, City of Jacksonville
- Senator Gary Farmer, City of Fort Lauderdale
- Senator Anitere Flores, City of Miami
- Senator Ed Hooper, Palm Harbor

- Senator Tom Lee, Brandon
- Senator Jason Pizzo, City of Miami
- Senator Bobby Powell, City of West Palm Beach
- Senator David Simmons, City of Longwood
- Representative Fentrice Driskell, City of Tampa
- Representative Bobby DuBose, City of Fort Lauderdale
- Representative Javier Fernández, City of Coral Gables
- Representative Joe Geller, City of Dania Beach
- Representative Margaret Good, City of Sarasota
- Representative Dianne Hart, City of Tampa
- **Representative Evan Jenne**, City of Hollywood
- **Representative Toby Overdorf**, City of Stuart
- Representative Will Robinson, City of Bradenton
- Representative Richard Stark, City of Weston
- Representative Jennifer Webb, City of St. Petersburg
- Representative Patricia H. Williams, City of Fort Lauderdale

## ###

Founded in 1922, the Florida League of Cities is the united voice for Florida's municipal governments. Its goals are to promote local self-government and serve the needs of Florida's cities. Florida's cities are formed by their citizens and governed by their citizens. The League is founded on the belief that local self-government is the keystone of American democracy. For more information, visit <u>floridaleagueofcities.com</u>.