

301 S. Bronough Street, Suite 300 ● Post Office Box 1757 ● Tallahassee, FL 32302-1757 (850) 222-9684 ● Fax: (850) 222-3806 ● Website: *flcities.com*

Florida League of Cities Announces 2019 Legislative Policy Committee Appointments

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: June 3, 2019

CONTACT: Brittni Johnsen

bjohnsen@flcities.com / (850) 701-3652

The Florida League of Cities appointed 10 municipal officials to serve as chair or vice-chair on one of its five legislative policy committees for the coming year. Each committee focuses on its own specific set of policy areas that are of interest to Florida's cities.

Legislative policy committee chairs, vice-chairs and members were appointed by the League's incoming president, Bay Harbor Islands Councilman Isaac Salver.

"Municipal officials are the driving force behind the League's legislative success. In addition to developing legislative priorities, policy committee members provide us with a better understanding of real-world implications of proposed legislation," said Salver. "We appreciate their willingness to serve, as there is a significant commitment of time and effort that goes into identifying legislative priorities for the membership to adopt."

Appointments are typically a one-year commitment. Committees develop the League's Legislative Action Agenda, which details priority issues that are most likely to affect daily municipal governance and local decision-making during the upcoming legislative session.

The 2019-2020 legislative policy committee chairs and vice-chairs are:

Finance, Taxation and Personnel

Chair: Vice Mayor Paul R. Shalhoub, Town of Lake Clarke Shores Vice-Chair: Council Member Robert Yaffe, Town of Bay Harbor Islands

Land Use and Economic Development

Chair: Councilwoman Jolien Caraballo, City of Port St. Lucie

Vice-Chair: Mayor William Capote, City of Palm Bay

Municipal Administration

Chair: Council Member Dan Saracki, City of Oldsmar

Vice-Chair: Vice Mayor Kimberly Glas-Castro, Town of Lake Park

Transportation and Intergovernmental Relations

Chair: Councilman Elvis R. Maldonado, City of Homestead Vice-Chair: Commissioner Gigi Simmons, City of Gainesville

Utilities, Natural Resources and Public Works

Chair: Deputy Mayor Stuart Glass, Town of Indialantic Vice-Chair: Councilman Rick Williams, City of Cape Coral

For more information on each committee and the League's legislative policy development process, please visit <u>floridaleagueofcities.com/advocacy/policy-committees</u>.

###

Founded in 1922, the Florida League of Cities is the united voice for Florida's municipal governments. Its goals are to promote local self-government and serve the needs of Florida's cities. Florida's cities are formed by their citizens and governed by their citizens. The League is founded on the belief that local self-government is the keystone of American democracy. For more information, visit floridaleaqueofcities.com.